Tourist information

Macau has become a Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China since 20 December 1999. It is situated on the south-eastern coast of China, in the Pearl River Delta of the Guangdong Province.

The Macau Special Administrative Region has an area of 30.4  sq. km, comprised of the Macau Peninsula (9.3 sq. km) and connected to Mainland China, the islands of Taipa (7.6 sq. km) and Coloane (7.6 sq. km) and the reclaimed area COTAI (5.9 sq. km). Three bridges connect Macau to Taipa (one of them is 2.5km long, the other one is 4.5 km long and the third one is 2.2 km long).

Besides the Border Gate (Portas do Cerco) - the visitor can access Mainland China through the COTAI Frontier Post. Immigration and Customs is located in the reclaimed area between the islands of Taipa and Coloane.

macao map.png

Chinese and Portuguese are the official languages, with Cantonese the most widely spoken. English is generally used in trade, tourism and commerce.

Macau is a unique city for the harmonious co-existence of eastern and western cultures. The rich world heritage and fantastic coastwise scenery make Macau more charming and attractive.

Here are some useful links for you to get more information:

macao gov.jpg  macao gov tourist office.jpg  city guide.jpg


Information on visit visa / entry permit requirements

All visitors must hold a passport or a valid travel document.

Visas are required by all visitors except:

a) Nationals of Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Croatia, Czech, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominica, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kingdom of Morocco, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mali, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovak, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania and the United Kingdom(6 months) for a stay up to 90 days;

b) Nationals of Australia, Brunei (14 days), Canada, Chile, India, Indonesia, Kiribati, Malaysia, Monaco, Namibia, New Zealand, Philippines, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, Turkey, the United States of America and Uruguay for a stay up to 30 days;

c) Holders of a Hong Kong Identity Card, Hong Kong Permanent Identity Card or Re-entry Permit for a stay up to 1 year;

d) Nationals of China with valid Macau entry / depart documents;

e) f) Holders of Diplomatic Passport; "Laissez Passer" issued by the United Nations; holders of Consulate / Diplomatic documents issued by the Macau SAR without limit of stay;

h) Holders of travel document issued by the Portuguese authorities for the foreign citizens.

Visas can be obtained from the Immigration Services through Embassies/Consulates of the PRC and should be used within the validity. The visa is expired after the valid date.

Visas may be applied for upon arrival at the Immigration counter; however some countries are required to apply for an entry visa before embarking to Macau.

There are three types:
Individual - MOP$100, children under 12 years of age pay MOP$50.
Family Passport - MOP$200
Group - MOP$50 per person for groups of 10 or more, organized by a single travel manager and presenting a collective travel document.

The above information is for reference only. For further information on entry formalities, please call the Macau Immigration Services of Public Security Police Force: (Macau area code) 853-2872 5488 or visit the website:, email:



Copyright © 2016 Managed by the Macao Association for Internet Research. All rights reserved.